About Robert Sommer Award

About Robert Sommer Award Symposium

Robert Sommer Award Symposium

Every two years, the Robert Sommer Research Society awards the Robert Sommer Medal to honour outstanding research in the field of schizophrenia.

Awardees are nominated by the International Jury of the Robert Sommer Research Society. Robert Sommer prize winners are also appointed as members of the International Jury.

Members of the International Jury: Nancy Andreasen (University of Iowa, USA), Tim Crow (Oxford, UK), Lynn DeLisi (New York University, USA), Chris and Uta Frith (Univeristy College London, UK), Bernd Gallhofer (Justus-Liebig University Giessen, Germany), Shetij Kapur (Institute of Psychiatry London, UK), David Lewis (University of Pittsburgh in Pennsylvania, USA), Andreas Meyer-Lindenberg (ZI Mannheim, Germany), Robin Murray (Kings College London, UK), Christos Pantelis (University of Melbourne, Australia), and Daniel Weinberger (National Institute of Mental Health, USA).

Scientific Board: A. Meyer-Lindenberg (Central Institute of Mental Health, Germany), T. Kircher (Phillips University Marburg, Germany), R. Murray (Kings College London, UK), T. Crow (Oxford, UK), P. Netter (Justus-Liebig University Giessen, Germany).

About the Robert Sommer Award

The Robert Sommer Award Medal (as pictured above) was initiated for the 100th anniversary of the Centre for Psychiatry at Justus Liebig University School of Medicine, Giessen, Germany. The medal had originally been created as a memory medal by the Centre's founder, Robert Sommer, to be presented to his dear guests and colleagues.

Robert Sommer (1864 to 1937) established the Centre for Psychiatry in Giessen in 1896. He was also a founder of the worldwide first Society for Experimental Psychology. He was well-known for his readiness to follow uncommon routes of thought and to engage in matters far beyond the field of psychiatry. Robert Sommer was in close touch with all leading neuroscientists of his time, and he was a close friend of Wilhelm Wundt, the father of experimental psychology, who held the Chair of Psychology in Leipzig, Germany.

Minutiae of the world's first congress on experimental psychology: list of participants

The Robert Sommer Medal underlines the present spectre of cooperation of the team of researchers in Giessen with numerous centres of the international research community. The Robert Sommer Award Symposium whises to gather an equisite circle of international avantgarde researchers in the field of schizophrenia and hopes to provide them with a framework for unrestrained discussion of recent critical topics in a personal and intimate atmosphere.

Another intention of the symposium is to provide junior researchers with a free of charge opportunitiy to present their work to the international community and discuss their ideas with top researchers in an atmosphere of encouragement and without the financial restraint and anonymity of world conferences.

Award winners are elected by an international jury of representatives of the neurosciences and past award winners.

Past award winners: Timothy Crow (Oxford, Great Britain), Nancy Andreasen (Iowa, United States), Robin Murray (London, Great Britain), Daniel Weinberger (Bethesda, United States), Uta and Chris Frith (London, Great Britain), Lynn DeLisi (New York, United States), Shitij Kapur (London, Great Britain), David A. Lewis (Pittsburgh, United States) and Christos Pantelis (Melbourne, Australia).

Jury speaker: Bernd Gallhofer (Giessen, Germany)

Scientific Commitee: Tim Crow, Oxford, Tilo Kircher, Marburg, Peter Kirsch, Mannheim, Andreas Meyer-Lindenberg, Mannheim, Petra Netter, Giessen

Past contributors to the Symposium include Lars Farde, Stockholm, Richard Frackowiak, England, Meyer-Lindenberg, Mannheim, Peter Falkai, Göttingen, Peter Jones, Cambridge, Peter Liddle, Nottingham, Birte Glenthoj, Copenhagen, Robin Murray, London, Torgny Svensson, Stockholm and many more.

It has become the cherished tradition of the symposium that the awardee is invited to conduct the Reiskirchen Brass Wind Consortium, one of Germanys most lauded brass bands, as an overture to the dinner party. The conductor's traditional featherbush hat and baton will then be handed over to the awardee as the sign of the (in)formal investiture to the Award and membership of the jury.

Picture Gallery of the Robert Sommer Laureates: please click on the pictures to see more

about_rsa.txt · Last modified: 2016/10/26 15:53 by CR
Recent changes RSS feed Creative Commons License Donate Minima Template by Wikidesign Driven by DokuWiki